Enrolling your child Employment Maps and Directories
Search Website
Separation Line
Communications Home
Separation Line
News Releases
Separation Line
Spotlight Newsletter
Separation Line
Backpack Online
Separation Line
Academic Calendars
Separation Line
Board Meeting Minutes
Separation Line
Parent Notification Service
Separation Line
District 196 TV
Separation Line
Legislative Advisory Council
Separation Line
Resident Survey
Separation Line
Government Resources
Separation Line
Website Advertising
Separation Line
Links to Local Media
Separation Line
Clear LineTown Pages
Separation Line
Saint Paul
Clear LinePioneer Press
Separation Line
Clear LineStar Tribune
Separation Line


District students win eight video awards

Click here for print friendly version of this article
(April 03, 2017)

ROSEMOUNT, Minn. -- Students representing the journalism and video production programs at Apple Valley and Eastview high schools won eight of the 24 Crystal Pillar Awards presented at the regional Student Production Awards ceremony March 31 at the Crowne Plaza AiRE Hotel in Bloomington.

The Student Production Awards are sponsored by the Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Apple Valley and Eastview students won four Crystal Pillar Awards each. The award winners, listed by category, are as follows:

  • Newscast: EaglEye, Apple Valley High, "Newscast #151," EaglEye crew

  • News General Assignment-Serious: Apple Valley High, "One of Ours: Jack Forrey," Maddi Bahm, Micah Nelson and Shannon Kelly

  • News General Assignment-Light: Eastview High, "iPads become tools," Jack Kohaut and Bailey Strasser

  • Public Affairs/Community Service: Eastview High, "Voter Turnout," Alex Baker and Dan Lekah

  • Editor: Jack Kohaut, Eastview High

  • Talent: Matt Kolan, Apple Valley High

  • Video Essay: Eastview High, "Trainer Connects with Athletes," Kevin Gunawan and Ben Sammon

  • Writing: Matt Kolan, Apple Valley High

Staff advisors are Cliff Dodge and Drew McCluskey at Apple Valley and Nick Fornicoia at Eastview.


District 196 serves approximately 27,000 students in early childhood, K-12 and special education programs combined, and offers community education programs for residents of all ages. District 196 includes all or part of Rosemount, Apple Valley, Eagan, Burnsville, Coates, Inver Grove Heights, Lakeville and Empire and Vermillion townships. For more information, visit www.district196.org.


Untitled Document

Copyright and Privacy information

© Copyright Rosemount - Apple Valley - Eagan Public Schools, 3455 153rd St. W., Rosemount, MN 55068 • 651-423-7700
All Rights Reserved • Copyright Notice | Privacy Statement | Nondiscrimination and Vocational Opportunities Notification

Copyright and Privacy Information